3 New and 3 Incumbent GC Vice Presidents Elected

By Sandra Blackmer, Michael Campbell, and Andrew McChesney, Adventist Review / ANN, with information supplied by

A slimmed-down leadership team of six general vice presidents has been elected to the General Conference and charged with helping implement three mission-oriented goals that the Seventh-day Adventist Church intends to prioritize over the next five years.

The lineup includes three new officers—Guillermo E. Biaggi, Thomas L. Lemon, and Abner De Los Santos—and three reelected officers—Geoffrey G. Mbwana, Ella S. Simmons, and Artur A. Stele.

“There will be a very strong emphasis on mission,” General Conference president Ted N. C. Wilson said Monday as he assured delegates that the smaller team would be able to help steer the church’s work.

The shuffle is significant, reducing the number of general vice presidents from nine to six, a level last seen in the 1990s. A record four general vice presidents announced their retirement months before the General Conference session.

Read more…