About JMUC

A Brief History of the Jamaica Union Conference and its Five Regions

After 104 years of existence, the territory of West Indies Union Conference was reorganized during a Ceremony of Separation, which took place at Northern Caribbean University (NCU) on Monday, November 29, 2010.

In her place are two new Unions: the Jamaica Union Conference (JAMU) comprising five Conferences in the East, West, Central, North and North East of the Island; and the Atlantic Caribbean Union Mission (ATCU) comprising the territories of the Bahamas, the Turks and Caicos Islands and the Cayman Islands.

The reorganization was done in order to further accommodate the growth and development of the Church in both regions and to strengthen and enable more effective and easier administration of the work.

At the Inaugural Session of the newly organized Jamaica Union Conference (JAMU) held on November 29, 2010, new administrators and directors were elected to execute the mission of the Church in Jamaica for 2010-2015 quinquennium the next five years. Pastor Everett Brown was elected as the first president of JAMU, along with fellow officers, Pastor Milton Gregory as Secretary and Elder Bancroft Barwise as Treasurer.

The Union also oversees the operations of the Andrews Memorial Hospital and share ownership of Northern Caribbean University (NCU) with ATCU.

Presidents who served West Indies Union:

  • F. Enoch (​​1906-1909)
  • Bender​​ (1909-1944)
  • D. Pierson​​ (1944-1948)
  • W. Numbers (1948-1954)
  • A.C. Stockhausen​(1954-1962)
  • U. Campbell (1962-1968)
  • S. Walters (1968-1976)
  • S, Fraser (1976-1985)
  • M. Reid​​ (1985-1990)
  • N. McKinney (1990-1997)
  • B. Wellington (1997-2000)
  • L. Allen​​ (2000-2009)
  • D.A. Bignall​​ (2009-2010)